PGP LO206 Winter Racing


Le Mans 24 Hours for Karts: Sarthe RTKF scores its fifth victory and sets a new record


Article By: Future Racing

The Sarthe RTKF team managed by Claude Jamin continued its winning streak by claiming its fifth consecutive victory in the Le Mans 24 Hours for Karts. Le Mans’s brand new international Karting track proved much faster than the iconic Alain Prost Circuit. The nr 1 Sodi-Parilla driven by Charles Fiault, Antoine Lepesqueux, Antoine Poulain and Sodikart works driver Anthony Abbasse also set a new record for covering the longest distance with 2119,005 kilometres. Marc Boulineau, 3rd in the 1983 Karting World Championship at Le Mans as a driver and his brother Gérard are the most successful engine tuners in the history of the race with a total of 13 wins! The winning team extends its lead in the Euro Endurance Series standings with three rounds to go.

Sarthe RTKF1 had to push to recover following a collision and a chain failure in early stages. They started to pull away in the morning to build an eight-lap gap to the second Sarthe RTKF entry of Maxime Bidard, William Westerloppe, Arnaud Bouilland and Adrien Bloyet (nr 72). Polesitter Anthony Abbasse beat his qualifying time to set the fastest lap in the race in 54’’000 at an average speed of 92,26 kph. La Manche Kart mag team was satisfied after ending 24 Hours podium drought. Eight-time winner Wilfrid Lecarpentier and his young team-mates Victor Compère, Clément and Elie Bluy drove their Tony-Vortex to a strong third place finish, ten laps behind the winners.

Behind these KF engine-powered karts (2-stroke 125 cc without gearbox, 34 bhp), Rotax Max French Champion Vincent Fraïsse, Stéphane Haurais, Alexandre Anstett and 24 Hours four-time winner Jacques Gautier took an astonishing Group 2 class win. At the wheel of a Sodi chassis fitted with a Rotax Max power plant, the Bélinois Jac Kart drivers threatened the best KFs for the lead of the overall classification during the first two thirds of the race.

Young guns Thomas Pottier, Harald Créton, Hubert Petit and Alexis Coursault finished second in class for Kosmic ahead of Alizée Guilmain, Tony Blin, Olivier Paris and British man Simon Broard (Tony-Rotax). British Team London Kookelj, also with a Tony-Rotax, only missed out on the category podium for 21 seconds, while Euro Endurance Series frontrunners Brands Hatch Screenvyn had to retire due to engine overheat.

For the first time a Handisport team started the race and finished 20th out of 32 starters: a fantastic performance for Melwynn Rodriguez, Pascal Hermer, Enzo and Claude Zéfirini!

425 Motorsports