PGP LO206 Winter Racing


IKF 2-Cycle Sprint Grand Nationals - Day 4


Article by: Race Media Group

After three great days of racing, the Final day of the 2010 2-cycle Grand Nationals at Willow Springs Kart Club proved to be a true finale hosted by Willow Springs and TiMi Promotions. Drivers working towards Duffy’s all weekend knew it was the last opportunity to grab the prestigious trophy and some karters had entered three classes to raise their odds. Additionally the most special trophy offered by IKF, the Lake Speed award, would be handed out and all eyes were awaiting the presentation following the week’s events.

First up was the Sr. Super Sportsman Heavy category sponsored by BKS Racing Engines and Scott Saunders got fast time and the Screaming eagle with a flying lap of 47.883. In the heat race Felkins got hung out on the start allowing Saunders to jump out to a big lead. Around Halfway second through fifth all got together sidelining Bryan Eady and Leland Holden. Felkins lost several positions allowing Saunders to cruise to victory. With two fast drivers coming from the back, the anticipation for great racing was strong. On the opening turn Saunders jumped out to the lead. Eady got to sixth by turn 2 got together with Felkins ending both their races. Leland Holden made a stellar run through the pack to take over the second place late. Saunders got the win but was removed from Post race tech giving the win to Holden. Bronson Eggert finished second with Colby Wright, Brian Gallagher and Ryan Casner finishing the top five.

The Kartel Motorsports Jr. 1 Comer took to the track and Parker Thompson grabbed the Screaming Eagle and fast time with a 50.209. In the heat Race Colton Herta and Curt Paul Jumped out to an early lead. Paul made a mistake and got fed to the Wolves fighting for second and dropped back. Herta got the win with Thompson second for the front row in the Main. On the start of the Final Herta jumped out once again with Paul on his tail after getting through traffic. The two worked together to pull away from the field. With 6 laps to go Herta had spindle issues causing him to drive off the track. This allowed Curt Paul to pull away to an uncontested victory and his first IKF Duffy. Parker Thompson was second with Zane Smith winning the battle for third. Blaine Rocha and Davey Manthei Jr. were the rest of the top five.

IKF TAG Sr. sponsored by Russell Karting was the fastest class of the weekend and Bobby Kelley set fast time for the Screaming Eagle with a 44.602 lap. Bobby Kelley got the jump on the start with Felkins in tow. The two ran away from the field with Felkins staying close to his bumper looking like what would setup a close race to the Duffy. The start of the Final looked the same with both jumping out to a big lead. As laps wound down Kelley began pulling away and he cruised to a 1.5 second lead and the Duffy.

The Jr. 2 KPV category sponsored by TNR Motorsports had one driver looking for his fifth Duffy of the weekend. Driver Jake Craig had won four Duffy’s already on the weekend and was looking for his fifth. He was off to a good start with winning the screaming Eagle with a fast time of 46.116. On the start of the Final David Vasquez jumped out to the lead. Vasquez paced the field running fast laps with Craig right with him. Vasquez got sideways and let Craig by but pushed him across the line for the two to start together on the front row of the Duffy race. On the start of the Final Vasquez went spinning and Craig inherited the lead. Austin Elliott stayed close and put the pressure on the leader but as the checkered flew Craig worked himself a 1.271 second victory. Elliott was a solid second with Brandon Reed, Jason Hannegan and Sonny Cervelli the top five.

Last race on the weekend was KPV-4 Sponsored by Pro Kart Shop and Nick Johnston set fast time for the Screaming Eagle with a 46.354. In the heat Johnston looked like he had the race in hand with an easy victory. On the start of the Final Johnston again got the jump and began to pull away. Five laps in Kolby Araki found Johnston’s bumper and the two began working together. As laps wound down the battle became a four kart battle with Robby Harryman and Matt Johnson joining the train. Last lap Araki pulled the trigger in turn eight leaving one hairpin left before the checkered. Johnston dove back to the inside with Araki crossing him up with a drag race to the line. Araki got his second Duffy of the weekend and Harryman followed through to second. Johnston fell to third with Johnson and Felkins finishing the top five.

After the last trophy presentations of the night, previous Lake Speed award winners Matt Johnson, Jesus Vasquez, and Nick Johnston presented the award to the 2010 winner. A real heartfelt speech by Matt Johnson reminded how important Karting was for the development of young drivers, but the amount of Fun as well. Johnson the first winner of the award, happily named the 2010 Lake Speed Achievement award to five-time Duffy winner of the 2010 Grand Nationals Jake Craig, then stated the importance of sportsmanship for prerequisites to be chosen for the award.

Article Credit: RaceMediaGroup.com
425 Motorsports