PGP LO206 Winter Racing


Challenge of the Americas - Infineon Preview


Article by: gatorzkarting.com

By the time that Sunday afternoon rolls around, three drivers will be headed to this year’s Rotax Grand Nationals, and three drivers will be headed to the worldwide Grand Finals, as a result of their championships in the 2010 Gatorz Challenge of the Americas. The championships will be decided at the Jim Russell International Karting Center at Infineon Raceway in Sonoma, Calif.

Sweetening the pot for the drivers of CKI Senior Rotax will be the prize of one school at the Jim Russell Racing School. The award recipient will be decided by a committee of the staff of the Gatorz Challenge of the Americas on Sunday afternoon.

Friends and family at home can tune in throughout Saturday and Sunday to the Gatorz Trackside page at www.gatorzkarting.com, which features live video, Timing and Scoring, and a live blog of the racing action.

Gobirel.com Micro Max
This championship will go down to the wire on Sunday, with the difference between points leader Connor Robustelli and second-placed Annie Breidinger a mere 18 points. Nicky Hays and Toni Breidinger each have one win apiece this season and are likely to play a spoiler role in the championship battle.

Apollo Motorsports Mini Max
Davey Manthai, Jr. enters the final weekend as the points leader but once one drop is factored in, the title favorite becomes his teammate, Blaine Rocha. Parker Thompson, at times the fastest and unluckiest driver in Mini Max, sits third and still has a legitimate shot to take the class championship. A dark horse is Adam Iavelli, who sits in fourth and could be in a great position to capitalize if Manthai, Jr., Rocha, and Thompson run into trouble.

Reaction Karting Junior Rotax
No championship is ever over until the last checkered flag falls, but Louie Pagano has almost made a case for it in Junior Rotax as he sits over 100 points clear of second place Kiel Spaulding with and without the drop. Spaudling, however, heads a log jam for second place that includes him, Dakota Dickerson, CalSpeed winner Luis Tyrrell and Jeremy Kane.

CKI Rotax Senior
Phillipe Gelinas has topped the points standings since Phoenix and, once all the drops are factored in, holds a narrow seven point lead over Stepanova Nakeel. Right behind are Justin Coplen and Mason Marotta – each with one win this season – and Steven Barros, who has quietly been banking points in four races, sitting fifth. With a spread of only 36 points between first and fifth, anything can – and likely will – happen during the two races in Sonoma.

Overdrive Motorsports Rotax Masters
Paul Bonilla leads the standings heading into the final two races, with his closest pursuer being the 2009 Grand National Rotax Masters champion Mike Daniel, and Phoenix winner Scott Falcone sitting third with an outside shot at the title. Ken Maxfield isn’t far behind in fourth with Larry Hayashigawa in fifth and only a few points behind.

Team Arizona DD2
Sacramento’s Troy Castaneda enters the final weekend of the series as the points leader, and as the favorite to win, as the Jim Russell International Karting Center is his home track. Erik Jackson sits second and can still take the title should Castaneda run into any misfortune. Noel Dowler sits in third with a small margin over fourth-placed Tim Otto.

Article Credit: gatorzkarting.com
425 Motorsports